Midnight Posts

Don’t know why but most of my creative ideas occur when I’m working or when I should be sleeping. The blog is taking a backseat to the busiest two weeks of work ever. Tonight I did update Google Reader with all the feeds from Sacramento fashion bloggers that I met at the first Sacramento Fashion Blogger meet-up that Bella of Citizen Rosebud organized at Crimson & Clover. Here’s a look at Google Reader and my computer desktop.

1 Google Reader – A website that aggregates RSS feeds. In non-nerd speak it’s a way to check all of your favorite blogs from one website. I’ve circled my folder of Sacramento Fashion blogs. Now every time someone in this list publishes a new post it will appear as an unread item (similar to unread mail). So instead of checking 13 websites I can just go to Google Reader and see any new posts.

2 Citizen Rosebud – There’s Bella. This is the part of Google Reader where the unread blog posts appear.

3 Desktop Cleanup – This folder is a black hole. We may never know what sorts of things have been dragged into this folder. Basically when the desktop gets cluttery I dump things in here that don’t belong in the other folders.

4 Receipts – When you buy something online or pay bills and that little nagging text on the screen tells you that you should print something out for your records … I save that stuff here as a pdf.

5 Wade and Associates – All draft blog posts, ideas and images for the fashion blog go here. There’s also a boutique business plan in there somewhere.

6 Flight of the Conchords – An essential DVD which is also good for playing in the background when you are blogging.

Well time for sleeping and waking up in about five hours…

-From the Desk of Wade and Associates

5 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Tech

5 responses to “Midnight Posts

  1. I’ve always wondered why people would use Google readers, now you’ve explained. I’ve heard that it doesn’t show the entire blog however, only a portion of it; don’t know if that’s for certain or not.

    Thanks for showing my mug on the post, and thanks for putting my blog in your reader!

  2. Wade and Associates

    Google Reader only shows the text and the pictures associated with each post. So you will not see what the blog looks like with background, headings, links, etc. However, all you have to do is click on the title of the post and it instantly takes you to the blog. I don’t know why but for some blogs (usually professional sites with a lot of design) you only see the first paragraph of text and then a link to the blog.

    The benefits: since I set up my Google Reader last night I can see this morning that there were new posts by Kerry Dolan, Citizen Rosebud, Twin Soup and Girls on the Grid. Pretty handy! Good morning reading 🙂

  3. I use google reader as well and I love it. My only problem is that I follow WAY to many blogs and can never keep up. I love your organizational skills. I as well often have my best ideas come while at work/ late into the night… but whatever works!

  4. Liz

    Hey I see me on there 🙂

    I stopped using Google Reader. It started becoming more of a burden than a tool {that bold number would just sit there and taunt me until it go to zero}. Now I just read a few blogs daily and make a point to visit new friends that comment on my blog & click through to links from my twitter feed. Much less stressful.

    • Wade and Associates

      I’ve heard RSS feeds can be overwhelming. You can’t read everything all the time! I’m trying to keep mine limited to a manageable number.

Leave a Reply

