How Bazaar

This Saturday I visited the Midtown Bazaar (http://www.midtownbazaar.com/) with my accomplice Stephanie. My expectations being unjustifiably high and reminiscent of the chase scene through the Agrabah market in Disney’s Aladdin. I had driven by the event in the warmer months when it was outdoors at 16th and J and it seemed to be quite lively. The Bazaar has since moved indoors with the entrance on I Street between 16th and 17th and seemed to be missing some of the panache I expected. I really think that Second Saturdays are much bigger but the Bazaar could find itself repeatedly struggling on other weekends indoors without some creative marketing to both vendor and customers. That’s just my honest opinion, and it’s not always sunshine and roses and pretty pink ponies.

I do applaud the fact that it’s happening regularly and we did find two diamonds in the rough – Time and Again Fashions and a Moroccan trader.

Time and Again Fashions (http://www.etsy.com/shop/TimeAndAgainFashions) is run by Nora Kniveton who also sells jewelry made from vintage brooches and other pieces under the name Transient Treasures (http://www.etsy.com/shop/transienttreasures). Below is a photo of  Steph perusing Time and Again Fashions’  clothing rack. I purchased the beige pointelle-knit cardigan in the front with the scalloped edging.

Nora had a table of vintage clutches and purses in mint condition, more than one with a matching change purse inside.

Steph was a fan of the Moroccan trader. This photo shows his space which features some well-made bags made from leather and pieces of rugs. Now this looks like a Bazaar!

The Verdict – I’ll be back on a Second Saturday for a re-evaluation as I’m hoping to find some things locally for holiday gift giving.

6 Comments

Filed under Events, Sacramento, Vintage

6 responses to “How Bazaar

  1. If you like handmade things, I hope you’ll stop by Midtown Bazaar on Oct. 30th. More than a dozen members of the Sac Etsy Team, a group of Sacramento-area artists and crafts people who sell on Etsy.com, will have booths there this Saturday! We (I’m one of them!) will have give-aways every half hour and a “People & Pet” fashion show at 1pm. See you Saturday!

  2. Hi,
    Thank you for visiting and writing about Midtown Bazaar. I’m one of handmade vendors at MB and would like to invite you to our Sacramento Etsy Team event this Saturday, Oct30th at MB. We will have our handmade fashion show for you and your pets. The fashion show will be at 1 p.m. Come and join the fun with us in Sac Etsy handmade style.
    Look forward to seeing you at MB.
    Usa

  3. I haven’t checked out the new location. But I fell in love with Nora and her amazing vintage and re-made jewelry when I met her a few months back. Nice to know she made it on your radar.

    The Bazaar is a diamond in the rough. It ain’t done yet, baby, but it’s gonna sparkle!

  4. Thanks so much for the swell write-up. I have been buying, selling, and WEARING vintage for years, and am finally launching this little shop dedicated to my finds. You can find me at the Midtown Bazaar nearly every Saturday, and I will always have NEW vintage finds to share!!
    :~) Nora

    PS–smoochies to you, Bella.

Leave a Reply

