Welcome Lulu Forever!!

My friend Sam told me that I had to check out this new vintage store near McKinley Park. Since then I’ve been in the area a couple of times for brunch at Orphan Breakfast House but sadly never found it open. I would just admire the delicate blouses in the window and go about my day wondering what was hidden in the little shop. Finally on Saturday I made it into the shop Lulu Forever which is located at 315 33rd Street in East Sacramento. The owner Marayah Plewe was running the shop and I was eager to ask her dozens of questions.

But of course first I had to look around the store as I get very anxious standing around vintage clothing for sale. My mind refuses to concentrate on anything other than if there is a one-of-a-kind piece in the perfect color and the perfect size – and within arm’s reach. Browsing the accessories was easy as the hats and purses are neatly displayed, each in mint condition. A collection of early 20th century coin purses hang on the wall, metal and beading connected intricately in a now lost form of craftsmanship. The store, Marayah says, is named after Louise Brooks (affectionately Lulu), a silent film actress you would probably recognize from her signature short black bob.

After trying on some items I decided to run home and see if I could reduce the damage with some trading. The store I noticed was primarily pre-70s classic styles (think Mad Men) such as beaded cashmere cardigans or cocktail party frocks and so I scurried home and grabbed some items I thought would be appropriate. I was lucky enough to make some trades including a plaid cape on eBay which turned out to be too large. My finds included a new plaid coat and two short sleeve knit sweaters.

The grand opening is November 13th from 6-8 p.m. and I’m told there will be cupcakes so hopefully more details to post about that soon.

Check out Lulu Forever on Facebook! The store hours are also listed there: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sacramento-CA/Lulu-Forever/152545061429340

3 Comments

Filed under Sacramento, Vintage

3 responses to “Welcome Lulu Forever!!

  1. thanks for writing about this. I can’t wait to check it out. Someone was trying to tell me about it, but the vague “near McKinley” had me a bit worried. Nov 16th, huh? i hope to make it!

  2. Great finds! I love that yellow sweater- can’t wait to make it over there. Good thing Roxy’s deli is right there to curb the appetite I’ll work up during my shopping storm. Ha.

Leave a Reply

