Shake it up

So I started this detox/cleanse program which you get to hear all about for the next month! If you know me then you know it is obviously not for weight loss. I have a family medical history that is pretty intense (heart disease/high blood pressure, breast cancer, diabetes, fibromyalgia, gallbladder inflammation, arthritis, and tendinitis). What’s actually scarier than that is that I don’t have a very big family so this is all between my parents, my two related grandparents, my two uncles and one aunt. Taking this into consideration I don’t think it’s too soon to start eating a little (or a lot) healthier.

Without going into the whole explanation let me just sum up that the diet is gluten-free, dairy-free and low sugar. Here’s a pretty good shake I made last night (you get a snack after you workout so that was my motivation last night). This shake is a work in progress, hence the ambiguous measurements, but you get the idea.

Strawberry Chocolate Almond Milk Shake

(Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Low sugar)

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

Handful of frozen strawberries (pays off if you have big hands)

1-2 tablespoons almond butter

1-2 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

Stevia to taste

Directions: uh blend everything together … pretty simple

 

strawberry chocolate almond milkshake

Yeah the Ninja Master Prep is totally awesome!

I have to admit that Stevia is not my favorite sweetener. I would probably prefer brown rice syrup but I haven’t determined if that is on the okay list.

1 Comment

Filed under Health

One response to “Shake it up

  1. sounds delicious jen! i have to make this!

Leave a Reply

